Design With Masculine Furniture That Lasts

9 Sep

michael-gq-coverIn the September 2009 issue of GQ Magazine, there is a design section for men that is all about the industrial look.  The premise is that if you buy furniture that is built strong and meant to last, you will save your pocketbook in the long haul as you will not have to replace cheap, assemble-yourself furniture from IKEA or Target. Two pices that they highlighted were a Cage Lamp by Diesel and a Screw Table by Tom Dixon, both pictured below.  The other nice feature of industrial furniture and furnishings is that they can be very masculine and rarely come in floral prints.

cage-lamps-diesel-creative-team-foscarini1

screw-table-dixon-tom

3 Responses to “Design With Masculine Furniture That Lasts”

  1. krupatel24 September 10, 2009 at 9:24 AM #

    Tom Dixon’s work is amazing … Starting to like Tom Dixon’s work as he seems to be setting a trend of producing eco-friendly products. An example of this is his work at the Super Contemporary Exhibition at the London Design Museum where an eco-friendly engine that belongs to a 1949 Bentley Chassis is on show. A must see and there is a ticket giveaway http://www.supercontemporary.co.uk/?s=ticket-giveaway to which you should use if interested. Alternatively I could sort some tickets out for you if you let me know.

    • kcglaser September 10, 2009 at 1:18 PM #

      I really like his work as well. You know it is funny that you should mention the exhibit at the London Design Museum…I started this blog on WordPress due to the fact that it was so highly rated and easy to use. I did not at the time realize that it was uk-based. I would love to see the exhibit but I am afraid my across-the-pond location prohibits me from doing so. If I do make it to London I will be sure to let you know what I think!

  2. krupatel24 September 10, 2009 at 1:37 PM #

    Shame you cant come and see it but here is something that you could have a look at – perhaps think of it as a sneak preview: http://www.supercontemporary.co.uk/index.php?s=tom-dixon … Its on until 04/10/09 so do let me know .. 😀

Leave a Reply

