The Movie Theater That Fits in Your Pocket

24 Feb

There is a great highlight in the newest Details magazine (March, the one with The Social Network’s Andrew Garfield on the cover) of the new ShowWX+ projector by Microvision. They say “time will only tell if Microvision’s ShowWX+ is mentioned in the same breath as the camera obscura or IMAX, but for now it’s the palm-size reason to give up your flat-screen.  The size of a cell phone, the projector connects directly to your iPod, iPhone or iPad (or, with an adapter, to a laptop or digital camera). Aim it at a dark wall and view high-resolution photos, TV shows, sales graphs – anything you have stored – at up to 100 inches wide. Just like that, your home video collection is a movable filmfest.”

$450; www.microvision.com

 


4 Responses to “The Movie Theater That Fits in Your Pocket”

  1. Mark December 28, 2011 at 2:45 PM #

    How can you justify having John Edwards’ Esquire cover photo on your website’s header?
    The man is human excrement in a suit. Well, in a prison jumpsuit.

    • kcglaser January 24, 2012 at 10:48 AM #

      I don’t necessarily disagree…but I just threw some magazine covers up there. I’ll add changing it to my “to-do” list!

      • Sonja Stewart June 2, 2012 at 2:12 PM #

        John Edwards is NOT admirable, but I wouldn’t waste time recharging a banner with him featured. Currently he is in the news. Don’t bow to pressure. Work on your next post. I noticed that your critic said nothing of Rihanna half nude on the other magazine cover. Go figure.

  2. Arlene Olson August 6, 2012 at 7:05 AM #

    This would be I think is a great idea if the restrictions would be minimal, but for now I think this technology can do better, I think the quality is still not yet at par with what the consumers expect. But the technology is getting there. I for one loves creating effects for films and other movie effects using http://greenscreenlosangeles.org which has given me great outcomes and wonderful effects that made my clients more than happy. Will surely look out for the future of this product.

Leave a comment